Blue Origin – New Shepard – NS-22 – Launch Site One – Texas – Space Affairs Livestream

1659697223_maxresdefault.jpg.webp



New Shepard 22 Mission description:

This mission will be the sixth human flight for the New Shepard program, the third flight this year, and the 22nd in its history. NS-22 will lift off from Launch Site One on Thursday, August 4.

Blue Origin today announced the crew flying on its NS-22 mission will include Dude Perfect cofounder Coby Cotton, Portuguese entrepreneur Mário Ferreira, British-American mountaineer Vanessa O’Brien, technology leader Clint Kelly III, and Egyptian engineer Sara Sabry, and telecommunications executive Steve Young. Sara will become the first person from Egypt to fly to space; Mário will become the first from Portugal. Vanessa will become the first woman to reach extremes on land, sea, and air, completing the Explorers’ Extreme Trifecta, a Guinness World Record. 

Flights with Blue Origin New Shepard aim to cross the Karman-Line at an altitude of 100 km /60 miles); they belong to suborbital flights. The New Shepard system will launch from its launch site in West Texas. Depending on the maximum altitude of the day, the flight will last between 8 and 10 minutes. By international definition, a human crossing this border can be named an astronaut. New Shepard is named after the US-American astronaut Alan Shepard, who launched with his Mercury capsule on May 5, 1961, to space in a suborbital flight and was the first US astronaut in space. Later in 1971, he walked as the mission commander during Apollo 14 on the Moon’s surface.

The launch window will open at 8:30 a.m. CDT / 9.30 a.m. EDT / 13:30 UTC / 15:30 CEST. The webcast will start at T-30 minutes.

2 comments
  1. Very expensive roller coaster ride. I would rather buy a fast race car. Now a ride on crew dragon would be a different story.

Comments are closed.

Previous Post
1659693741_maxresdefault.jpg.webp

LIVE: Blue Origin's sixth human flight, NS-22, blasts off

Next Post
1659702335_maxresdefault.jpg.webp

Blue Origin launches 6 people to suborbital space on New Shepard rocket

Related Posts
Total
0
Share